RSS

Don’t Shop, Swap…

16 Aug

I drove up to Austin this morning to go to the Don’t Shop, Swap event.

There were stacks and stacks of clothes, brought by many. They were sorted into groups (mens pants, womens tops, girls, boys, etc)

I brought some jeans and a tube top i never wore. I picked up a brown paper bag and found some of the most amazing items. See Below…

Clothes for my Ava

Clothes for my Ava

Beautiful dresses

Beautiful dresses

They had a display that said, “Make a T-shirt tote bag!” So I did.

"Make a T-shirt Hand bag

Make a T-shirt Tote Bag

I picked out my shirt. Diane cut off the arms and collar.

Then she sewed the bottom shut and hemmed the arm holes and “collar.”

And There is my T-shirt tote bag!!

They also had someone silk screening images on shirts, so i had her silk screen on my new tote bag.

I love my new t-shirt tote bag, i can’t wait to use it. I might make more t-shirt tote bags!!

They also had a station where you could alter your new garments or put a patch on them!

I wonder why I have NEVER heard of a swap like this before? This makes total sense, bring clothes you don’t want and take items you will use!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2008 in Moved

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Don’t Shop, Swap…

  1. AverageJaneCrafter

    August 17, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Hooray! I’m so glad to see your post. I went, but couldn’t stay long, because my daughter wasn’t feeling well. I wanted to get pictures and to sew stuff up! It was so awesome, and it sounds like everybody wants to keep doing it. 🙂

     
  2. kathie

    August 18, 2008 at 11:57 am

    glad you made it! we’ll be doing it again for sure, everyone had a blast!
    kathie

     
  3. Bernadette

    August 26, 2008 at 11:08 am

    Just found your post via Average Jane Crafter’s blog. So glad you enjoyed the swap. We had a lot of fun and plan on posting a tutorial soon on how folks can run their own swap. Future Craft Collective will be hosting lots of events and hopefully another swap in January.

     

Leave a Reply

 
